Online Help > Commands > Administration

Role Management

Description

 

Roles in Remote Desktop Manager for Mac are mainly used to reduce the time taken to manage users. The management of permissions granted to roles are quite similar to the corresponding notions for users, but instead of a single user, they apply to all users to which you've assigned the role.

 

Administration - Roles

Administration - Roles

 

BadgeInfo48x48

This feature is only available with an SQL Server and a Devolutions Server data source.

 

Roles in Remote Desktop Manager for Mac

 

Roles in Remote Desktop Manager for Mac are simply permission sets that you assign to a user. You can assign multiple roles to each user and the end result is the union of all permissions.

 

1. Create a new role in Administration - Roles and click on the plus to create a new one.

 

Add a Role

Add a Role

 

Role Management

 

General

 

The General side menu is used to define general information about the new role.

 

Role Management - General

Role Management - General

 

OPTION

DESCRIPTION

Login

The Login name is the name displayed in your Roles list.

Description

Enter a short description of your new Role.

 

Privileges

 

The Privileges side menu lets you add particular privileges to the roles. These privileges needs to be enabled for certain features to be available to users like the rights to import or export sessions.

 

Role Management - Privileges

Role Management - Privileges

 

OPTION

DESCRIPTION

Allow reveal password

Allows the user to use the Reveal Password command.

Allow drag-and-drop

Allows the user to move the sessions using drag-and-drop from other applications.

View details

Allows the user to see the content of the Details tab for all sessions.

View information

Allows the user to see the content of the Information tab for all sessions.

View shared logs

Allows the user to see the content of the Logs that applies to a session.

Import

Allows the user to Import sessions (Clipboard - Paste as well).

The import menu (File - Import) and the import feature in the context menu will be grayed out if the option is not active.

Export

Allows the user to Export sessions (Clipboard - Copy as well).

The export menu (File - Export) and the export feature in the context menu will be grayed out if the option is not active.

 

Permissions

 

Use the Permissions side menu to assign the View, Add, Edit and Delete permissions to your Roles. For more information please see the Permissions topic.

 

Role Management - Permissions

Role Management - Permissions

 

Repositories

 

Please see Repositories to learn more about this topic.

 

Role Management - Repositories

Role Management - Repositories

 

Settings

 

The Settings side menu lets you define the Offline mode rights for your Role. Please see Offline Mode for more information on this topic.

 

Role Management - Settings

Role Management - Settings

 

OPTION

DESCRIPTION

Disabled

No offline cache allowed for that role.

Read-only

A read-only cache is allowed for Advanced Data Sources.

Read/Write

An advanced cache, with change synchronization, is allowed for Advanced Data Sources.

 

Assign a Role

 

To assign role(s) to a user or to manage roles(s) for a user go in Administration - Roles  and click on Assign roles.

 

Role Management - Roles

Role Management - Roles

 

It's possible to assign a role to multiple users at the same time. Select the users you wish to apply the selected role or you can simply click Select All or Unselect All.

 

Security Role Assignement

Security Role Assignement

 

Roles in Devolutions Server

 

Roles in Devolutions Server are in fact links to Active Directory groups. By leveraging Active Directory integration you can easily define access rights for all domain users in your organization. Once a domain user log in the Devolutions Server data source, their user account will be created if needed and users rights will be controlled by the defined groups.

 

ShieldWarning48x48

Please note that the Unsecured group permissions (the ones above the grid) are ignored. You must set them on each user individually.

 

For more information please see Devolutions Server Role Management.